Skip to content

The Kinect in Unity 3

January 13, 2011

 

I finally managed to get the Kinect working in Unity 3.0. It took quite a few days of uninstalling drivers and reinstalling them but I managed it. I think my main problem was the OpenNI drivers weren’t installing properly because I had previously installed the Freenect ones. Once I uninstalled those and got the latest unstable Kinect drivers it started working.

This is how you can get it to run. Some of my steps might be unnecessary but it’s what worked for me.

  1. Install the latest unstable version of OpenNI
  2. Install the latest unstable version of NITE and use the PrimeSense license key
  3. I’m a little fuzzy on this step and I lost the instructions, I copied some XML files out of a sample folder into the actual folders. Not sure if it was needed.
  4. Install the latest unstable version of the Kinect Drivers (The PrimeSense drivers install by default with OpenNI and a Kinect is a beefier PrimeSense camera that needs different drivers)
  5. Opened up all the .xml files I could find and pasted the PrimeSense license key in all of them.
  6. Extracted the Unity 3.0 OpenNI Kinect project and hit play

It works fairly well. The legs in the screenshot are messed up because my apartment just isn’t big enough for the Kinect. It tracks the arms fairly well, the hands don’t seem to respond that accurately and if you move too quickly it will throw it off as well. Perhaps as the drivers get better and I hack around with the source code I can get it to work a little better, we’ll have to see. At least now I can finally start using it.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

