Skip to content

Sculptris

May 24, 2010

I’ve been learning MudBox lately but for some reason I just find it difficult to use quickly. I’m not sure why, but I just don’t seem to like it much. The other day I read about a free piece of software which works very similar called Sculptris.  After using it for about 10 minutes I had most of the keyboard shortcuts down and was able to create something that looked half decent.

A cartoon duck:

A cartoon duck drawn in SculptrisAfter that I spent a little more time and created a female body.  I’m still not the greatest at drawing photo realistic characters, but it was easy to achieve for the most part.  It’s still a 1.0 release but what I found a little lacking was there was no real way to delete parts of the mesh I screwed up on.  I had issues with the fingers on the hand and quite a few with the head of the character.  In both cases I wanted to revert it to a stump and recreate it but I couldn’t.  What I wound up doing is reducing the polygon count and using a combination of smooth and the inverted draw tool to push it back.

I also had issues with the masking features.  It could have been my fault being new with the software but I couldn’t figure out how to mask things and them move them around.  My characters face was too far out and I wanted to push it back, but every time I did something unexpected happened to it.

Besides those minor issues I had with it, it’s an awesome piece of software and being available for free makes it even better.  I suggest everyone try it out.

Female model drawn in sculptris

From → 3d

Comments are closed.

